SCAD Award winners were guests at VITA Zahnfabrik

SCAD Award winners were guests at VITA Zahnfabrik

Entering the 2017 SCAD Awards competition pays off. Exclusive patient live workshop with MDT Luc Rutten

At the end of April 2017, Jen-Chih Tsai from Taiwan and Hiroaki Tada from the USA, were rewarded for their exceptional dental skills and expertise after winning the Larsen-Chu and the Virtuoso Awards 2016, which are organized by the Society of Color and Appearance in Dentistry (SCAD) each year. The goal of both SCAD competitions is to honor and support the exceptional skills of dental technicians all over the world with regard to esthetics, appearance and reproduction of shade.

Award money, training trips, certificates

The two first place winners are awarded $ 1000 each, an official certificate and a free registration for the next SCAD Awards. Moreover, the winners can benefit from an exclusive three-day training program at VITA Zahnfabrik in Bad Säckingen, Germany. For the 2016 winners, their visit to VITA Zahnfabrik included exciting lectures on shade determination and ceramic reproduction and materials.

Expert course supervision

The exclusive patient live workshop featured internationally renowned top speaker and trainer Luc Rutten (MDT). Participants and the trainer tackled a particularly demanding case again this year: A single crown in the esthetic area was layered by each participant under the supervision of the experienced trainer and fitted in a dental practice while the participants were watching. The most successful, esthetic restoration was permanently bonded. The case presented a unique opportunity for all dental technicians who want to achieve better results.

Enter now for the 2017 SCAD Awards!

To get an idea of the current winner's restoration, visit under Newsroom/SCAD CDT Competition. So get your instruments since all practitioners who love challenges, want to show their skills and like to advance both in theory and in practice may enter from now on. Dental technicians with less than 10 years of professional experience may enter the Larsen-Chu Award; those with more than 10 years of professional experience may enter the Virtuoso Award. For more details on submission guidelines, visit The deadline for entering is September 15, 2017.